Back of the Queue – Sketching

Is there something you’ve always wanted to do, but never got around to starting (an activity, a hobby, or anything else, really)? Tell us about it — and tell us about what’s keeping you from doing it. – Daily Prompt by The Daily Post


I have varied interests and set of hobbies. I like reading books, watching movies, listening music, travelling and exploring, watching and playing sports, exercising and recently blogging. But here is this one hobby which I have always wanted to pursue but have not been able to start: the art of sketching.

I was very good at drawing in my school days, particularly until 6th or 7th grade. I won an art competition in my school in 5th grade. I don’t know but somehow I could not continue it. I developed so many interests and hobbies over the course of time in my school and college days. I was good at sports and regularly played cricket and football till 1oth grade. Then I developed interest in scouting and went on to achieve the highest rank in scouting, Quaie-e-Azam Boy Scout. I regularly used to go for and enjoy scouting camps at Murree, a hill station in northern Pakistan. After leaving school many of my hobbies went to backdrop and I started to concentrate more on my studies. It rewarded though, as I topped the intermediate examination and secured gold medal. Post college education, I pursued a tough option of professional studies of Chartered Accountancy and qualified in 2010.

But I always felt something was missing in those six to eight years of education since school. So I started to revive my hobbies. I always try to maintain work-life balance in order to pursue my interests and hobbies; and that one interest I so want to pursue is sketch art.

I have always loved arts. I think art is a way to feel connected to the world. It’s a language for capturing thoughts, exploring ideas and then spread those ideas. I love meeting and getting to know the artists. I love how artists have the ability to surprise, delight, and sometimes, shock. Through the eyes of an artist we can experience the world in so many different ways, and see different things.

I have a particular fascination for sketch art. One does not face hassles of fancy tools, boards, desks and tables for sketch art. With just a pencil and a piece of paper you can unlock a treasure of ideas, emotions, experiences and thoughts at any place and at any time.

So here is the next goal of my life, sketching. I have already started to look for classes and teachers. Although an accountant and creativity do not go well with each other, I hope I shall be able to unlock my artistic instincts soon.


The question is how soon? Well the comment of Kate motivated me to start it from today. So I bought a sketch book and pencils within few hours of posting this blog today. Thanks Kate and The Daily Post !

photo

 


 

Here is my first attempt at drawing… after 17 or 18 years of break. Loads to learn and improve upon …

Foto 2

 

My next attempt at making face of Popeye.

IMG_0721

And I have signed up for summer camp short course for drawing starting on July 4, 2014 at National College of Arts, Lahore. Hope to polish the skills and come up with better pieces soon.

13 thoughts on “Back of the Queue – Sketching

  1. Wouldn’t today be a great day to go buy a sketch book and see what you can come up with? We aren’t promised tomorrow… If you’re at work and can’t get to a store, send me your address and the pencils you’d like and I’ll send them to you. You could create sketches to accompany your writing and vice versa. I think it’s a GREAT idea!!
    ~Kate

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Pingback: Back in the queue | It's Mayur Remember?

  3. Those two sketches are pretty good already. Even with out classes, if you just practice on your own it would get easier. I don’t have any talent myself, but I can doodle faster after years of trying. lol
    I’ll also be looking forward to your future drawings.
    =)

    Like

  4. Pingback: My Drawing Adventures – NCA Summer Camp | Dirt Road

  5. Pingback: Updating My Life Queue | TyroCharm

Please share your feedback

