Writing Space – In my room in solitude

Where do you produce your best writing — at your desk, on your phone, at a noisy café? Tell us how the environment affects your creativity. – Daily Prompt by The Daily Post


Every writer needs a place to write, whether it’s one’s desk, a coffee shop, a library or a park bench. The key thing is, it has to be a place where one feels comfortable, can easily carry out the thought process and enter what you can call a ‘writing zone’. Places to write, therefore, are as varied as writers.

You will normally observe that we get stuck at the time of writing when we are not at a place where we are comfortable. The thought process just does not move in a flow and turns out to be an extremely unproductive activity.

I have peculiar habits when it comes to reading and writing. As far as reading is concerned, I cannot read or study in seclusion. I need some activity in my surroundings. I normally have best reading sessions when I am watching TV, walking, sitting at a park bench or living room. I still remember I used to turn on music when I used to study and prepare for exams in my school and college days, particularly while studying mathematics. And I did pretty well in my exams 🙂.

However, when it comes to writing its a complete contrast. I like to be alone in my room, sitting on a sofa near my book shelf. It’s the place where I unlock my power of words. I cannot concentrate if there is any distraction around me. Whether its related to work or personal writing/blogging, my thought process and flow of ideas stops completely if I am not alone and not concentrating.

So there is no right or wrong place when it comes to writing. It’s important that you enjoy the process and write at a place where you feel most comfortable.

“It starts with this: put your desk in the corner, and every time you sit down there to write, remind yourself why it isn’t in the middle of the room. Life isn’t a support system for art. It’s the other way around.”

– Stephen King, On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft

Here are some of my blogs which I consider to be my best. These all were written in my room in solitude.

8 thoughts on “Writing Space – In my room in solitude

  1. Pingback: Costa Coffee – My Favourite Writing Space | Understanding and Embracing Diversity

  2. Pingback: My Writing Spaces | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

Please share your feedback

